The EACC is a public body established under Section 3 (1) of the Ethics and Anti Corruption Commission Act, 2011. As per Section 4 of the Act: The Commission shall consist of a chairperson and two other members appointed according to the provisions of the Constitution and this Act. Section 16 (1) of the Act states that: The Commission shall, through an open, competitive and
transparent process, and with the approval of the National Assembly, appoint a suitably qualified person to be the Secretary of the Commission.

its mission is to promote integrity and combat corruption through law enforcement, prevention and education.
its Core Values are:

  • Integrity
  • Professionalism
  • Fidelity to the Law
  • Courage
  • Teamwork
  • Innovation

its Mandate is to combat and prevent corruption and economic crime in Kenya through law enforcement, preventive measures, public education and promotion of standards and practices of integrity, ethics and anti-corruption.

The Commission shall have all powers generally necessary for the execution of its functions under the Constitution, this Act, and any other written law. Without prejudice to the generality of subsection (1), the Commission shall have the power to –

1. Educate and create awareness on any matter within the Commission‘s mandate;
2. Undertake preventive measures against unethical and corrupt practices;
3. Conduct investigations on its own initiative or on a complaint made by any person, and,
4. Conduct mediation, conciliation and negotiation.

(Visited 100 times, 1 visits today)
Share this:

Written by